Is this hideout safe?

Beccabbode

Reaction score
Hi! I am new to hamster care, my daughter has been wanting to get a Syrian hamster for a while now. She has been saving up and we have been slowly collecting things for the hamster throughout the last few weeks. We have been watching YouTube videos to make sure we are getting everything right before getting her hamster. She went with her dad today to get a hideout and she came back with one I haven't seen on YouTube before. It is the petSmart brand "Full Cheeks" firwood house hideout for chinchillas. My daughter loved how big it was, thinking it would be safest for a larger hamster. However we do not know if the wood will be okay. Does anyone have experience with this hideaway? Is it safe? Should we exchange it for something safer? Any advice? Thanks!

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240226-210552_Samsung Internet.jpg
    Screenshot_20240226-210552_Samsung Internet.jpg
    61.2 KB · Views: 3
Hi & welcome to the forum.

It’s hard to know if that wood is safe or not if it doesn’t specify on the packaging what it is.
That style of house can often have tiny little tacks in them which can be hard to find but are dangerous if they get exposed as they are very sharp.
Also ideally you want something you can paint with a non toxic paint on the inside so that it’s pee proof easy to clean when necessary & won’t get mouldy.
So I would say best not to use that one.
A multi chamber house is best but I’m not sure what’s available in the US, you may be more likely to find something suitable online rather than in a pet shop.
I’m sure someone will be along soon who knows more about what’s available where you are.